Caffeine Trivia 01.13.15

Although it tastes “stronger”, dark roasted coffees actually have LESS caffeine than medium or light roasts. The longer a coffee is roasted, the darker it becomes and the more caffeine burns off during the process. Similarly, contrary to popular assumptions, espresso coffee actually contains about one-third of the caffeine of a brewed cup of coffee. This is partially due to the fact that espresso is typically made using top premium arabica beans which have a lower caffeine content than robusta beans, which are found in many coffee blends used for standard brewing. Also, in the espresso brewing method, water is in contact with the grounds for only 20 to 25 seconds and extracts less caffeine than methods that put water in contact with the grounds for several minutes.

3 Comments

Filed under Caffeine Trivia

3 responses to “Caffeine Trivia 01.13.15

  1. Wow all I can say is that you are a great writer! Where can I contact you if I want to hire you?

    • Thanks for the compliment. I have more work than I can possibly do, but this blog is my “fun” release. I suggest that you read “ShoeStringWeekends” – it’s a project I have with my brother and he is a great writer and storyteller…and he is available for hire.

  2. Hello

    Awesome post, just want to say thanks for the share

Leave a Reply

